Keyforge

For those that do not know about keyforge, it is a card game where you battle an opponent. The key to winning is forge three keys by collecting aember from playing cards, reaping or stealing them all the while making sure your opponent doesnt forge any.

Now I have always been tempted to play these card games before like magic the gathering, etc. What put me off was you buy your starter deck, then you need to buy booster packs to get the best possible deck, then when you finally rob a bank to get all the money you need to buy all these cards, they bring different ones out and you have to change identity find a new bank, breach your bail terms etc. A really bloody nuisance I’m sure you would agree.

Now what I love about keyforge is this:

Buy your deck (1 box) around £5-8 and you’re done, just need to find people to play with. The best thing, every deck is unique, so you may have some of the same cards as others, but your deck is completely a unique set of cards, your deck has it’s own name, logo and playing style (which you have to figure out from playing).

I purchased a couple of decks near the start of the year, played one game enjoyed it and hadn’t had the time to play a game since.

That is until last night when I entered a tournament at my local comic shop.

I was bloody awful, but after a few games, I realised how I should be playing my deck, and I won a round! Granted I lost a bunch of times, but it was very enjoyable and I’ll certainly keep playing it.

I highly recommend this game if you want to play a card game but dont want to fork out hundreds of pounds on cards. You only need one deck.

If a deck is getting strong, meaning it wins a lot and doesnt lose, then it acquires chains which means that a player has less cards in their hand when they draw in a hope to balance the game and make it fair, these are added by the game itself when you register it at tournaments etc.

It’s a really clever idea, and I cant wait to play and try my other three decks.

Leave a comment